Growing confident leaders

Growing confident leaders

Teaching the skills of leadership and what it means to lead is a critical requirement of any educational institution. Dainfern College’s mission is to produce leaders of great calibre who will make a positive contribution to, and an effective investment into, their families, communities and nations.

Dainfern College is committed to developing students to be effective and moral leaders in a challenging and dynamic environment and have thus developed the ground-breaking Leadership Academy, which gives every High School student the opportunity to develop and grow leadership skills from Grade 8 through a variety of leadership opportunities, event participation, leadership camps and courses and an active Students Representative Council (SRC). This enables senior students to join the Leadership Programme at the end of Grade 11, providing certain criteria are met.

Unlike the traditional ‘prefect’ system, each student on the Leadership Programme is appointed to a specific Leadership Portfolio, and is assigned a personal mentor teacher who guides them and challenges them to grow their leadership skills. At the end of their term of office, the leaders are assessed on their performance and how well they have managed their portfolios. Based on this, top achievers are then rewarded with a Leadership Scroll, Full Colours or Honours for Leadership, ensuring they are recognised for their performance rather than their status.

Thirty students have committed themselves to serving their school in diverse portfolios for 2019-2020. They are led by Heads of School Skye Goss and Matthew Pretorius, and Deputy Heads Jenna Smart and Tivo Ndlovu. Dainfern College is very proud of these young men and women and is committed to guiding and mentoring them as they grow their leadership skills and confidence.

The leaders for the individual portfolios are as follows:

Heads of School: Skye Goss, Head Girl & Matthew Pretorius, Head Boy

Deputy Heads of School: Jenna Smart, Deputy Head Girl & Tivo Ndlovu, Deputy Head Boy

Heads of House – Griffin: Bongumusa Khanyi, Aida Mesgari & Victoria Pettitt

Heads of House – Kraken: Ben Blecher, Tatiana de Almeida & Jayson De Souza

Heads of House – Phoenix: Declan Burgess, Kyra Killops & Filipe Mira

Head of Culture – Art: Morgan Heystek

Head of Culture – Music: Cameron Smit

Co-Heads of Sport: Robin de Lorm & Samuel Carter

Co-Chairs of SRC: Matthew Blake & Stephen Browne

Co-Heads of Academic Affairs: Ludwig de Ruyter & Hamza Mahmood

Head of Conduct: Siyanda Makhatini

Head of Environmental Affairs: Kirsten Roberts

Head of Matric Affairs: Sebastian Blecher

Head of Mentorship: Kaitlyn Pike

Head of Outreach: Gabrielle Smith

Chair of PR: Alex Clayton

Head of Round Square: James Reeder

Head of Spirit & Tradition: Bandisa Mahlalela

Head of Website and Technology: Joshua Gobalsamy