You are here: Home High School High School News High School Academic Prize-giving

High School Academic Prize-giving

The final High School Prize-giving was held on 5 December to mark the end of the 2017 academic year. It was a night of celebration as all the academic awards for Grades 8-11 were handed out as well as several other trophies. We were also honoured to have Mr Riaan Manser as our guest speaker for the night.

Manser, a world-famous South African explorer, was the first person to circumnavigate Africa by bicycle as well as Madagascar by kayak among other notable achievements. He recounted his many stories in front of an enthralled audience as he coveyed a strong message about what one can do if they set their mind to it and don't stop believing in their ability. It was the perfect message on a night where we congratulated so many students on their academic excellence after a long year of hard work.

Finally, the evening ended on an entertaining note as the audience was treated to a memorable performance from our male staff in what was the perfect end to another great year!

Here is a full list of all the awards and trophies that were handed out on the night:

Grade 8 Awards:

Silver certificates – 75 -79% for the year

Arissa Smitherim, Sienna-Jade Naidoo, Megan Spencer-Young, Megan van der Walt, Kiana Chipeta, Haeun Kim, Katelyn Marais, Kemello Joyini, Sana Moodley, Kaylyn Fuller, Talia-Bella Valente

Gold certificates -  80% and above for the year

Simone Killops, Shravan Ruplal, Nonhle Mchunu, Victoria Pretorius, Robyn Campbell, Kirsten Lloyd, Ipeleng Mashamaite, Nerissa Govender, Gabriella Gait-Smith, Lya Binos, Gabriella Byth, Megan Pike, Olivia Weir, Kate Adendorff

Junior Colours – 90% and above for the year

Luke Krause, Alexia Duvenage, Jenna Sampson

Dux Scholar - Top academic achiever in Grade 8

Jenna Sampson-140






Jenna Sampson

Grade 9 Awards:

Silver certificates – 75 -79% for the year

Kaitlyn Pike, Jenna-Lee Graham, Cameron Smit, Samuel Carter, Palesa Mashigo, Jordan White, Joshua Gobalsamy, Kyra Killops, Siyanda Makhathini, Tivo Ndlovu, Declan Burgess, Ethan du Preez

Gold certificates - 80% and above for the year

Bandisa Mahlalela, Sarah Blignaut, Matthew Blake, Asanda Kunene, Elise Bruehwiler

Gold Certificate & Academic Scroll - 80% and above two years in a row

Michael Gait-Smith, Ludwig de Ruyter, Stephen Browne, Bianca Pitt, Xiao Ya Huang, Jenna Smart, Kirsten Roberts, Matthew Pretorius, Victoria Pettitt, Gabrielle Smith

Dux Scholar - Top academic achiever in Grade 9

Gabrielle Smith-140






 Gabrielle Smith

Grade 10 Awards:

Silver certificates – 75 -79% for the year

Kamogelo Mooketsi,Tina Giannopoulos, Kabelo Maphanga, Luke van der Heever, Jodi Dovale, Natasha Ruiter, Patrick Casserly, Rachel Calaz, Limpho Dipico, Amber Oelschig, Viennie Ledwaba

Gold certificates - 80% and above for the year

Ashleigh Keichel

Gold Certificate & Full Colours – 80% and above three years in a row

Vuyeleni Mukansi, Nicholas Munro, Ewodwa Magqaza, Matt Jerling, Michael Swart, Chiara Watson, Thoriso Lamola, Oluwaferanmi Oluwadairo, Babalwa Vabaza, Christopher Flood, Pumelele Vabaza

Dux Scholar - Top academic achiever in Grade 10

Pumelele Vabaza-140






Pumelele Vabaza

Grade 11 Awards:

Silver certificates: 75 -79% for the year

Courtney Lappeman, Duncan Macpherson, Jared Kruger, Kayla Templelhoff, Roxanne Motta-Marques

Silver Certificate & Prestige Award

Tiyana John, Tamica Govender, Kiara Baker

Gold certificates & Prestige Award

Vincent Lesch

Gold Certificate, Prestige Award & Academic Honours - 80% and above four years in a row

Lara Pillay, Ilinca Stefan, Nishendran Naiker, Lateefah Monareng, Joshir Singh, Luca du Toit, Julius Smith, Erin van der Heever, Michael Browne, Anna Moreira

Dux Scholar - Top academic achiever in Grade 11

Gina Ballard 2-140






Gina Ballard

PR Trophy

Luca du Toit

Principal's Award:

Joel Riffel

InterHouse Trophy



Dainfern College

ISASA logo 50px white border    Ieb logo 50px white    ProudlySA Member Logo 50px    round square logo 50px

Dainfern College, 96 Broadacres Drive, Dainfern

PO Box 3199, Dainfern, 2055

Tel: +27 (0)11 469 0635; Email:

You are here: Home High School High School News High School Academic Prize-giving